top of page

72. Treatment Thursday - What is Reiki?

Updated: Mar 21

Reiki is an ancient Japanese natural healing energy founded by a Buddhist Monk called Mike Usui. The healing energy is used as part of a deep relaxation and meditation that treats your mind, body and spirit. Reiki can be used as part of a treatment, on its own or as a distant healing measure that works with the body's chakras and etherial energy. Reiki practitioners use their hands to deliver energy to your body, improving the flow and balance of your natural energy to promote healing.

Mikao Usui believed the five principles that double as mantras that can be used to enhance our daily lives. He called them 'medicine for the soul' and encourage us to incorporate positive energy into our daily lives.

  • Just for today, do not worry

  • Just for today, do not anger

  • Just for today, be humble

  • Just for today, be honest

  • Just for today, be compassionate toward yourself and others

There are seven chakras that work as the body's energy sources and for total wellbeing they should be all be in alignment. These chakras are located in the torso of the body and the Reiki Master acts as a channel to help the healing energy to flow through to the recipient. Each chakra represents a different part of the body, mind and spirit.

Root Chakra-

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and is the starting point for developing and maintaining balance. The root chakra is represented as red in colour and is the base for providing energy to the other chakras, so if it’s blocked or unbalanced, it's likely your other chakras will be as well.

Sacral Chakra-

The sacral chakra is near the perineum just below the navel. It's said to be associated with the sex organs and the kidneys, though this isn't supported by scientific research. It's also associated with the water element and portrayed as a vibrant orange color. Stress, illness, emotional upset, or conflict all can cause blockages or imbalance in your chakra system.

Solar Plexus Chakra-

The solar plexus chakra is located above your stomach area just below the ribs. It is vibrant yellow and responsible for confidence, self-esteem and helps you feel in control of your life. Physiological cues that it's our of alignment can include digestion issues like stomach pain, heartburn, acid reflux, nausea, ulcers, or a loss of appetite. I can be where you feel nervous or anxiety. Wearing yellow, holding your hands over the area and yoga can help to realign this chakra to help gain back your personal power.

Heart Chakra-

The heart chakra is located at the center of the spine at the middle of the chest or heart. The heart chakra is the centre of your feelings, love, and blessings. It is also known as the bridge between earth and spirit because it connect the grounding chakras of the body - root, sacral and solar plexus with the etherial or spiritual chakras - throat, third eye and crown. An aligned heart chakra encourages to love to blossom for oneself and others.

Throat Chakra-

The throat chakra is located at the base of the throat, at the centre of the larynx giving the chakra its name. It is bright blue in colour representing energy that is pure, soothing, calming and healing. It gives us our voice and enhances our communication, when it's not aligned we can struggle to voice our opinion or have a lump in our throats. This chakra connects us with the divine and if you're feeling low or need help expressing yourselves wearing a blue scarf or necklace can help us strengthen the energy in this chakra.

Third Eye Chakra-

The third eye guides our intuition and spirituality. This chakra can be associated with visions, a higher consciousness, and the ability to observe other auras. It is located between the eyebrows and helps to us see things clearly and envision positive results. The third eye is a deep indigo blue in colour and provides wisdom and insight.

Crown Chakra-

The crown chakra is violet in colour and the most pure and spiritual of all seven chakras. It is located above the crown of the head and it acts as our centre of spirit, enlightenment, wisdom, universal consciousness, and connection to higher guidance. When our crown chakra is blocked it can be difficult to be open to other ideas, thoughts or new knowledge. To help to open this chakra focus on the Reiki principles, gratitude, positive affirmations and visualisations.

During Treatment:

The Reiki practitioner acts as a channel for the natural soothing Reiki energy to help the recipient to relax, ease tensions and rebalance. This treatment can be performed in a seated position, incorporated into another treatment, as a distance healing offering for those in need or laying flat in a quiet space. The healing energy is guided by the divine and goes where it is needed, treatment and experience is different.

After Treatment:

Treatments are customised for each individual so you can feel a variety of benefits after the treatment. Some of the most common are very relaxed, nurtured, refreshed, more balanced, calm, energised, and more positive. Reiki is a natural healing energy so continues to work on the mind, body and spirit for days and weeks after the treatment. After the treatment, it is recommended to have some relaxation time and to drink plenty of water to hydrate and flush out toxins. It is suggested to have a treatment every four to six weeks to restore the chakras and help maintain balanced energy levels.


Reiki is an natural, very effective and powerful healing alternative that can help with a multitude of concerns such as:

- stress and anxiety

- low energy levels

- insomnia

- recovery from illness

- bereavement

- headaches

- feeling our of balance

- low immune system

- poor digestion

- anger management

- as an alternative therapy to complement medical treatment.

Diana offers Reiki and Reiki Massage which incorporates Reiki into a 75 minute full body massage to help relax, refresh and restore the client. It can also be offered as an individual treatment with the option of being a touch therapy or a hands off treatment. It can also help relax those at home, in hospital, or as a distance treatment.

Stay positive and test negative. Thank you for reading ~ Diana x

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page